Saturday, June 15, 2013

Summer in KS

It's almost the first day of summer, which means it's almost the longest day of the year.  That is always a bit bittersweet to me, because it seems to me like the last day of summer should be the longest, right?  It's like, "here's summer; and now you know winter is coming."  Yuck.

BUT that being said, I am taking full advantage of it as best as I can.  I haven't experienced the continuous, torturous heat of summer here yet - we had two days this week that were 98 degrees, with a heat index of 105, but it wasn't terrible.  My biggest problem is the same with that as in winter, meaning, I can't walk Bella, and she get stir-crazy.  But I much prefer that situation in summer.  At least now I can take her out at 8:00, 8:30 and I'm not standing there with my shoulders hunched and muttering under my breath how miserable I am.  I swear I will turn into a true "snowbird" and when I'm an old lady I plan on living somewhere very warm.

Back when I last posted, all of a couple weeks ago, I was feeling pretty stir crazy myself.  I didn't want to spend another minute in KS with Patryk unemployed as it is.  My biggest problem, though, was I was bored at work.  I don't consider myself a workaholic by any means, but when I don't have lots going on at work I'm frustrated and grumpy.  This past week, though, I was busy, and anticipate being busy the next couple weeks.  My meeting planning skill set is being put to good use - I have a meeting on June 26 at a country club that I planned totally all by myself, and then myself and the Director of Public Affairs have been appointed in charge of a meeting at the end of August for 168 people - PLUS the CEO of the entire company is coming, and I have to be the one to "handle" him.  They keep emphasizing how important he is.  I get that.  But, really, I worked for a billionaire for my last job, and when I was in Kentucky I had to prepare for the crown Prince of Saudi Arabia when he came to visit.  So a CEO of a privately-held communications company I'm sort of shrugging off.  Not that I won't get done whatever he needs and wants to be done (I've already learned he has to have iced tea available 24/7), but I'm not fussed about it.  I'm good at "handling" people.

Patryk had one job interview already, which went well, but it was a second-shift job - 2:00 p.m. to 11:00 p.m.  I'd never see him!  So that one was a 'no.'  He's applied to about 15 jobs already, though, and we're still not concerned about him being unemployed.  At the moment, in fact, it's great for me - he says he is a fantastic 50's housewife (his words).  And he is!  He has dinner ready for me every day when I come home, and he vacuums and cleans the bathrooms....last week he texted me at work to ask where the furniture polish was!  I am ashamed to say we didn't even own any....the only thing he won't do is laundry because he's afraid of ruining my clothes, but that is one task I don't mind doing at all.  And yes, he needs to work, but for the moment I'll take advantage of relaxing on my housework chores :)

Anyway, that's all I've got for now.  I'll try to post again before the Fourth of July - hopefully with a job update for Patryk.

Love to all,

Amy